Another reblog: Insomnia edition

Madame Weebles —  June 7, 2012 — 16 Comments

It’s 4:30am and I can’t sleep. I woke up about an hour ago and have been up ever since. I didn’t get home from work until 10pm last night so I’d really prefer being asleep right now. But I’m taking advantage of the opportunity to have some quality time with the Weeblettes, one of whom is trying to climb on my lap even though my laptop is already on my lap.

So here’s a blog entry from a few months ago. Because you never know when this travel advice will come in handy.

Packing for a trip through time

Also, there is nothing good on television at 4:30-5:00am. I guess the networks feel that if you’re awake at this time, you deserve crappy programming. Unless this is their way of trying to be helpful, airing stuff that would be more likely to put you to sleep. Either way, sucks.

16 responses to Another reblog: Insomnia edition

  1. 

    Just rolling out of bed at 4:30am. Why? because I hate rushing into anything. I want to be able to relax and enjoy my food, coffee and the Howler before I have to go to work and fight all the crazy IT battles all day.

    Here’s hoping you get some much needed rest.

    • 

      God bless, that’s early. I would probably benefit greatly from getting up earlier myself since I could use some time to prep for the day so I’m not just chugging coffee and running to catch a bus or train. You have the right idea.

  2. 

    Madame Weebles, Thank you for reblogging. I loved this! You know, you’ve brought up some important points about those things one doesn’t necessarily consider when contemplating time travel. I’m so glad you called my attention to this. I knew blogging would come in handy some day! :) And BTW, I love your writing. Hope you can get a nap this afternoon.

    Cathy

    • 

      Ohhh, Cathy, thank you so much. You’re very kind. I’ve wanted to time travel for as long as I can remember, but this is the sort of stuff they don’t put in the travel brochures. :D

  3. 

    As an outspoken redhead, I’ve never had any desire to travel back to the times of the Salem witch trials. In fact, I’ve never wanted to visit those malodorous times at all.

    But I’ve always harboured a secret vision of what it would be like if I travelled into the future. I have a vivid mental image of people recoiling from my unspeakable filth: bacteria crawling all over my skin, repulsive upper respiratory viruses lurking in my sinuses… Well, you get the picture. It’s all about perspective. :-)

    Hope you get some sleep soon.

    • 

      Woo hoo, a redhead! I’m sort of a redhead—I get it from my Aunt Clairol.

      I suppose the future would be more sanitized, yes. Unless of course the superbugs win and we’re all dead.

      And you’re right, redheads would probably get a lot of unwanted attention at most points in history. Not fair!!

  4. 

    Soooooo….
    judging from your reaction to early morning TV…
    you’re saying it’s a ‘No’ on my all-in-one kitchen gadget?
    Order now and we’ll send a second utility attachment at no extra charge! :)

  5. 

    Have you tried watching YouTube when you can’t sleep? You can see almost the entirety of Marilyn Monroe’s scenes from her unfinished last film, “Something’s Got to Give” and the episode of “I Love Lucy” where Tallulah Bankhead is the Ricardos’ neighbor is a blast. Plus, if you’re a Beatles fan, there are thousands of hours featuring the Fab Four. I watch very little TV.

    • 

      That’s a good idea–I hadn’t thought of just watching stuff on YouTube. I love that Tallulah Bankhead episode of I Love Lucy–they almost never show that one on television since it’s one of the weird 1-hour episodes. Thanks for the suggestion–you’ll save me from much boredom during my next sleepless jag!

  6. 

    I bet you sleep hard tonight. You have an Aunt named Clairol? Me too!

  7. 

    Febreeze. it seems bringing along a few gallons of Febreeze would be in order…

  8. 

    I have those times many, many nights. Then I get wound up because I can’t sleep and try to plug in one of those relaxing voice tape things that tell me to relax and sleep. Then I get pissed at the relaxing voice tape and at the little digital lights surrounding me from various things in my bedroom. Argh-h. I crash hard though, after those nights. Here’s to some nice zzzzzzzz to you tonight, MW. :).

Testify!

