Mysterious windows

Madame Weebles —  January 24, 2013 — 156 Comments

One of my favorite books of all time is Time and Again by Jack Finney.  (He’s the guy who wrote Invasion of the Body Snatchers, by the way.)   Time and Again is a science-fictionish historical mystery set in New York City.  I say “science-fictionish” because it’s set in both 1970 and 1882.

2013-01-23_22-58-39_79

My very well-loved copy of one of my very favorite books.

Finney set up a compelling time-travel approach: you can take any structure or locale that has remained unaltered and use it as a way of going back to an earlier time during its existence.  Time travelers must first immerse themselves in the everyday life of their destination era—the culture, current events, attitude, etc—as a way of “loosening” the mind’s ties to the current day.  Finney used the Dakota apartment building in Manhattan as a portal between 1970 and 1882.  The way it’s explained in the book, you can almost believe it could work.  I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about other places that would serve as appropriate portals.  I could use the Empire State Building to go to 1931.  The Brooklyn Bridge could take me to 1883.  Certain historic houses could get me as far back as the 1650s and 1660s.  You get the idea.

My favorite part of the story is when the protagonist, Si Morley, arrives in 1882.  He boards a Fifth Avenue coach and looks at another passenger:

…I sat watching him from the corner of my eye, tense, excited, almost frightened at my first really close look at a living human being of the year 1882….This was no motionless brown-and-white face in an ancient photograph….There he sat, a living breathing man with those memories in his head.

I still remember when I first read these lines.  I had goosebumps.  Because I get this.  I so get this.  It’s not about witnessing a historic event or meeting a famous historical figure.  It’s about being a part of that time, even briefly.  Like when you first visit another country:  “Look!  Actual Italians/Indians/Australians/Peruvians!  And this stuff looks just like in the photos!  Hey, they really talk like that!”  Except you would be visiting, say, 1862:  “Hey, Lincoln is president and right now they’re all living through everything I’ve read about!!”  It would blow my mind to see and interact with 19th-century people as live, Technicolor humans and not as static black and white relics.  To walk through streets with the old buildings when they were brand new.  And before they were torn down.

If you’ve read this or this, you know I’ve had some strange experiences with people who are no longer with us in corporeal form.  I’ve freaked out a few of you (you know who you are) by being able to sense things without your telling me.  So I wasn’t surprised when something else peculiar happened a few months ago…

I was on a train in New Jersey.  We were about to stop in Newark—the tracks go over the Passaic River and into the station.  I was looking out the window as the train passed over the railroad bridge. For a second or so, I saw the scene not as it is now, but as it might have looked in the 1830s or 1840s.  It was fleeting but I remember it vividly.  Lots of trees, low small buildings and houses, and boats.  What I recall most distinctly is a mill with a waterwheel near the bridge.  When I got home I looked for lithographs or maps of the area during that time, but no dice.  If I did a thorough archival search I might find some but it doesn’t seem worth the effort.  Maybe I imagined the whole thing, maybe I didn’t.  I’ll probably never know.

All I know is, I hope it happens again and that I’ll be able to verify it.  I would love nothing more than to peek through one of those mysterious windows of time again.  Until then, maybe I’ll entertain myself by thinking of going to Flushing Meadows Park to see the 1939 World’s Fair.

156 responses to Mysterious windows

  1. 

    What a great ability to possess!! Be sure to let us know if you make it there!

  2. 

    Another great genre NYC book is The Alienist by Caleb Carr. Have you read it? I met that guy at a reading at the Union Square Barnes and Noble. Nice chap. Put up with my idiot questions with real aplomb and dignity.

    • 

      Hello Unbearable Banishment! Greetings! The Alienist is another one of my favorites. I also met Caleb Carr at a conference not long after the book came out, he was very gracious and nice. He’s a beautiful writer, have you read any of his other stuff?

  3. 

    I definitely do not have that gift, but kind of wish I did. I’d love to see with my own eyes the people and places I’ve read about!

    • 

      I know what you mean, Tori. I never had this ability before, but apparently I have it now and it’s pretty cool if I do say so myself. By the way, your new Gravatar photo is quite lovely.

  4. 
    whiteladyinthehood January 24, 2013 at 8:10 am

    Loved this post – Weebs! I’ve never read the book, but it sounds like something I would enjoy – I’ll check it out.

    • 

      I highly recommend it, Chica B—there’s a sequel that Finney wrote in the early 1990s, From Time to Time, which is also very good but not as good as the first one (as is the case with most sequels).

  5. 

    Okay this is really awesome and it reinforces to me that you need to be my official New York your guide. I will pay you in free liquor I know my cousin will give us. Actually, since I don’t drink you can have my share of the free liquor, too. Plus I’m great company, for what that’s worth.

    Also, I think I need to get that book.

  6. 

    I think I would like this book. I believe in psychic abilities that some of us have (I include myself because of some strange experiences that I have had in dreams and premonitions and visions) and I know you have had, too. They are real, I have no doubt. I normally don’t like sci-fi but this isn’t normal sci-fi; it’s more what I know of reality.

    • 

      Agreed, Dark Mary (I love that you write it in Irish, btw). There’s *something* going on there even if we don’t really know what it is. And time travel stories are kryptonite for me, I can’t resist them. They’re the only type of “sci-fi” stories I like.

  7. 

    So cool! I get you. Of course, you already know that.

    When I was really little, I had a vivid dream I was at a castle, playing with other kids. We were running around and giggling. The castle was right beside the ocean, yet there was a huge rectangular swimming pool in the front. I woke up and told my mom about my dream and she said I was dreaming about the Casco Castle off the coast of Maine, which had burned to the ground decades earlier. I was only around 7 years old when I dreamed it, so I would have no clue that it even existed. My mom said there used to be a very expensive hotel there and they did have an outdoor pool as well. And so began my vision quest! My entire life I’ve had similar ‘dreams’.

    • 

      I knew you in particular would get this, Darla, since you’ve had even more experiences than I have with this sort of stuff. It’s wild, isn’t it? I’m going to Google Casco Castle now because I’m intrigued. So glad you dropped by, I hope school is going well!

  8. 

    Same sort of idea in the book, “Bag of bones” by Stephen King. The main character travels back in time to witness a murder. Always wished I could do that..1967 to be able to listen to Sgt. Pepper..

  9. 

    I just don’t know NYC very well, so I would need a good guide. Does the tour include red wine treats? …. A question … were the 1939 & 1964 World Fairs on the same site?

    • 

      They were indeed, Frank. My parents went to the 1964 World’s Fair, and apparently it was much fun. There are still structures standing from that fair, but sadly they’re mostly decrepit and rusting now. It’s sad. As for red wine treats on the tour, of course! The 1939 World’s Fair evidently had a gigantic International Food Pavilion, with wines galore.

  10. 

    I’m being a bit Sherlock here but did the water have anything to do with your vision a kind of Mirage in Reverse?

  11. 

    After the first graph I switched to Goodreads to add this book but after reading it all the way through, it sounds too much like the Christopher Reeve/Jane Seymour movie “Somewhere in Time,” so I’ve got ask: Is this is a kissing book?

    The movie was based on a totally diff’t novel but the method of time travel is exactly the same.

    • 

      Ugh, I didn’t care for Somewhere in Time AT ALL. Although I do recommend the book it was based on, called Bid Time Return, by Richard Matheson. It’s not nearly as syrupy as the movie version. I don’t do syrupy. So to answer your question, Time and Again is not a kissing book. There’s a love story of sorts but it’s a subplot and not a big one. Trust me, I would never recommend a book that smacked of saccharine Hollywood romance.

  12. 

    It’s interesting that you see pictures of the past (and completely amazing) ~
    and I totally ‘get’ what you mean about actually SEEING something from the past (like a time traveler). That’s why I love historical fiction from the early medieval times – it just stuns me that people did the things they did with the technology they have.

    Sometimes I ‘know’ things -but they always come to me in words – not images. Not ‘future’ things – but stuff that has happened – like knowing my friend’s father’s middle name without ever being told – I have no clue how I knew – it just popped into my head and I saw his name. I love freaky stuff like that (at times – sometimes it scares the piss out of me and I just ignore it – I don’t want to talk to dead people…ever…)

    I don’t have strong beliefs of disbeliefs – but nothing surprises me.

  13. 

    I read this book in…jeez, has it been 20 years already? It is one of my favorite NYC books and now, dammit, I feel the need to reread it. Thanks for loading down my life with another thing to do.

  14. 

    Gives me chills! I have had these experiences all of my life, to some very dramatic degrees. I rarely doubt someone who tells me this kind of story, and little freaks me out. Very interesting!

    • 

      Isn’t it? I would love to hear about your experiences too, My Lady (I’m going to call you that because your Gravatar photo makes me want to call you that).

      • 

        I need to change that gravatar… it’s getting old, like me. ;-) I have thought that each day for a week; it’s time! As for my stories, some time I’ll share them. Suffice it to say Madame, I totally relate to your experience. I’ve been having these “experiences,” since I was a young child.

  15. 

    You get what I like about history. Not the “on this date, this boat sank”. It is how did this peice of information fit in with the lives, feelings, thinking of this person. When this dress was on, what was the lady thinking feeling doing….Who were they are PEOPLE.

    • 

      EXACTLY EXACTLY EXACTLY, Wanda. I know you get it too, because of your fascination with the clothing. There’s actually a part in Time and Again that I think would really resonate with you too—where they’re talking about a Victorian dress in a museum, and talking about how, when the dress was new, a woman wore it, and she moved around in it as a living breathing person. That’s what I care about. I know you get that.

  16. 

    I never heard of this book, but you sold me.

    And I would be shocked if that mill along the Passaic was never there. I just know you have a connection to the other side. (So do please put in a good word for me over there.)

  17. 

    I love the concept of time travel, it’s so exciting, I’m not a sci-fi fan particularly and yet I find time and space to be fascinating. I love movies where someone gets transported to a different time, even the silly schmultzy type movies. When I’m writing fiction, if I get stuck, I like to try an exercise of bringing something from a different time period into the scene just to see how characters react to it. Like bring an iPad into a historical period drama or something – it’s not going to make the final edit of what I’m writing, but it’s a fun concept to explore.

    • 

      I’m the same way, Vanessa, I’m not a sci-fi fan, at least not in books. I like sci-fi movies and television but books, not so much. That must be fun, bringing something like an iPad to a historical setting, even if you don’t use it, I bet it helps stir the creative juices nicely.

  18. 

    Love it. Love the post, love the book–love it. The concept of time travel is… titillating (well, it kind of is), and writers who can create a believable and captivating story using that concept are masters. But *you*, Weebles—seeing visions of landscapes past—you’re in a class of your own. And I do believe that there’s a book in that, too. (So write it, why don’t cha?)

  19. 

    I always enjoyed walking around Flushing Meadows, I would go down to Flushing because there’s an incredibly good Malaysian restaurant just off Main St., after stuffing my belly there I would head for a walk from the Botanical Garden all the way to Shea Stadium to catch the train. I’ve seen several pics of the World’s Fair and often wonder how many of the kids enjoying all the cool stuff are already gone. Same happens when I visit the World’s Fair sites in here. It has that eerie feeling.

    • 

      I love Malaysian food. Flushing is great for Asian restaurants. Those relics of the World’s Fair are creepy. The Unisphere is nice with the fountain, but the other buildings were just depressing. Definitely an eerie feeling, I can imagine it’s very similar with the European World’s Fair sites too.

  20. 

    I love that kind of shit!! Great post!!

  21. 

    Several people have told me they’ve experienced similar things… I never have, though. Anyway, I just hope the railroad doesn’t hear about this.
    Time travel upgrade fees must be a *****.

  22. 

    Weebs,
    That is so cool! Yes, I have had similar experiences. They’re almost like a dream, but not quite. Seeing things as they were in some former time. When I lived in Boston, it was quite easy to be transported back to the 18th century – so many old buildings and what you described happened fairly often. And I have certainly felt it in Europe – especially Spain. And you’re right, it doesn’t really matter whether you can verify it or not…
    Funny, I’ve been experimenting with some B&W photography recently – it’s almost as if the photos transport me to a different time and space.
    Great post!
    Cathy

    • 

      Cathy, I can only imagine how many experiences like this you must have had. This is the only one I’ve had (so far!) and it was wild. But it was so fleeting and it was in my head (I saw it in my mind only) that it almost seemed like it could have been just me daydreaming. Boston and anywhere in Europe would certainly be fertile ground for those sorts of visions, though. When I was in Athens many years ago, I had a very strong feeling of deja vu on one street in particular. The strongest deja vu I had ever had. It was really weird. Makes me wonder what would happen if I went back there…

  23. 

    I’m just ordering books for some upcoming trips, I will take your recommendation onboard.

    • 

      Does that mean you’re visiting our fair shores, Joe??????????

      • 

        Not just yet, I am applying for a visa (due to past indescretions) once I have it I can factor in America in my plans. Whilst I was away this weekend some friends have planned a trip to New York in June to see The National at somewhere in Brooklyn. Don’t think I’ll be going as I am in Egypt a few weeks before. I have planned my holidays this year but may change my September plans if I get the visa. Could have been in Vancouver next month, my other half is working there for 6 weeks, but money is tight after booking Egypt. Too many places to go and not enough holiday allowance/money!

  24. 

    Your story of being on the train and momentarily seeing a scene from the past reminded me of the episode of the Rod Serling Twilight Zone television anthology called “A Stop at Willoughby.” You can read about it here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Stop_at_Willoughby .

  25. 

    I love those little spine-tingling glimpses into history! For some reason, I’m “tied” to the period between 1890 and 1929 – ragtime music and barbershop quartets and the Great War and flappers. I love all kinds of music, but the music of that era feels like “home” to me – there’s a deep sense of recognition that I don’t get with any other music.

    I suspect the presence of my dad’s great-aunt Hannah, who died 23 years before I was born. By all accounts she was a bit of a badass, and I think she must be hanging around, vicariously enjoying my freedom. At least, I like to think so. :-)

    • 

      Hmmmmm. I find this extremely intriguing. There must be a reason for you having such a strong affinity for that particular time period, Diane. It could be Hannah hanging around, or if the idea of reincarnation appeals to you, maybe you were alive during that time yourself in another life?

      • 

        I’ve wondered about that, but I don’t like to think about reincarnation. I’d really prefer this to be my first, last, and only time around the block. Guess I’ll find out eventually, though – in the mean time, I’ll enjoy the music. :-)

  26. 

    Fascinating how many people have these experiences… me too… gives one a wonderful sense of the continuity of time…

    • 

      Valerie Valerie Valerie Valerie Valerie!!! It’s so good to see you!!! And I see you’re back to blogging! For some reason your posts are not showing up in my WP Reader, I’ll have to investigate this.

      • 

        Dear Dear Madame – what a welcome – thank you so much…
        and its so good to be back!
        That’s interesting – I’d wondered why quite a number of people had disappeared off my radar or do I mean off my blog!
        obviously faded out as old soldiers are supposed to do!
        We also featured in winning the lotto over at Mimi’s blog- we both plumped to spend the lolly on saving animals!!!

        • 

          WP has been very quirky lately, so maybe that’s why. I will be over to visit you soon. And that’s so great about your saving the animals—there is a special place in heaven for people like you, truly.

  27. 

    I’ve not read this, Weebs but now I want to. I’m not normally a fan of sci-fi but this sounds as if it’d be a great read because of the going between portals of time — especially NYC in the 70s and the Dakota — a beautifully historical building that’s housed many a rich and famous occupant. (off topic — was that where Rosemary’s Baby was supposed to have been set?). Anyway, that feeling of déjà vu you experienced, I think many of us have been in that tingly, goosebumpy state of, “I’ve been here before.” Maybe you WERE there and just a different Weebs. Thanks for the recommendation, I’ll put it on my reading list.

    • 

      It’s a great read, Brigitte—I’ve read it umpteen times and I haven’t gotten tired of it yet. It might have been deja vu that I experienced, it’s hard to know *what* it was, really. But maybe I *was* there 175 years ago, who knows? And yep, that’s the Dakota in Rosemary’s Baby. The building looked so much creepier before they sandblasted it clean in the late 80s.

  28. 

    Even as a child, I’ve always been fascinated by the past. My house’s decor can attest to this. I’ve never experienced any moment, whether fleeting or immersive, where I’ve felt what you’ve described, but, goddammit, I would love to. Are you able to sketch? If so, I hope you were able to sketch the scene you witnessed because that would be awesome. Whether it is an ability to tune into different levels of energy and existence or a simple case of untreated schizophrenia, I envy you. :)

    • 

      Something tells me that your house looks like a shrine to the 50s. I wish I could sketch because I would absolutely draw what I saw. But I draw so badly that even my stick figures suck, so that’s not going to happen. It’s not something I expected to happen, but it was cool. Even if it *is* just the schizophrenia. Maybe you’ll be similarly blessed one day!

  29. 

    I LOVED that book — and the magic of being able to go back in time has always fascinated me — that and having folks from history come forward to our day. I second the recommendation of The Alienist by Caleb Carr. Another absolutely brilliant book is Forever by Pete Hamill where you get to live in NYC as it transforms from the 1600s to modern dad. A magical book.

    • 

      Forever is a great read too. I like Pete Hamill’s stuff. And The Alienist is up there with Time and Again on my list of favorites, even if it isn’t a time-travel story. All those historical novels are so compelling, aren’t they?

  30. 

    I read that book a very long time ago and it was wonderful. I feel time is a human construct, and that it’s possible for us to experience more than one place and time simultaneously, but it’s our belief that we can’t that keeps from doing so. I’m up for the adventure, dear Madame. When do we go? xoxoM

  31. 

    What a cool concept! I definitely need to read that book.

  32. 

    I get this. Something more intense than deja vu. Triggered by a smell, a sound, the way afternoon light casts a long shadow on the pavement. Barely longer than a glimpse, familiar, but from another time. Spooky, creepy, freaky. Like remembering a dream in such great detail that it becomes tangible in some way. And then it’s gone.

    • 

      That happens to me too sometimes, Honie. The vision of the river felt different from that, it was a more detached sort of thing. But I was walking down a street in Athens one night and had the exact same experience you just described. And then it was gone, just like you described. Weird, wild stuff.

  33. 

    Madam, I just couldn’t NOT tell you this, but I was playing Mad Libs once where Invasion of the Body Snatchers was mentioned. By the end of the piece it was Invasion of the Twat Snatchers.

    I hope this makes you laugh as hard as it has me for the last few years.

  34. 

    Okay, that book is going on the To Read list. :) What a cool experience you had, and that’s definitely an idea that you could turn into a great book concept. Maybe bring a ghost into it who the protag could then meet in the past…. I’ve had dreams that turned out to be premonitions, but to see an alternate landscape while I’m awake? That would be awesome!

  35. 

    I loved Time and Again.

    I was in San Francisco for three days this week and did an architecture walking tour of Victorian houses. I felt like if I squinted, I would see ladies walking the streets with parasols and hoop skirts.

  36. 

    I’ve had the same experience in dreams and have often walked through old streets where I knew the people and places (as if I’d lived there all my life!) It’s an absolutely freaky and amazing feeling! I remember when we first moved to the old farmhouse and hubby was working in the shed. I saw an older man standing next to him wearing a brown cardigan. The man turned around and looked at me and waved and I waved back. When hubby came in for lunch I asked him who the man was. He said there was no one else in the shed. When I described the man he said, ‘that sounds like my Uncle Henry, he always wore a brown cardigan and when I was a kid he taught me a lot about machinery and farming. But he’s been dead for 15 years.’ o.k.a.y… step back slowly… ;)

    I’ve just put Time and Again on my TBR list

    • 

      Now THAT is one helluva story, Dianne. Uncle Henry stopped by to say hello! Did you see a photo of him, did you get to confirm that that’s who it was? And did you tell your husband that you had seen him? Enjoy the book!

      • 

        I saw photo of him about a week later and it was definitely him. Hubby was a little surprised, but I think he was flattered at the same time that Uncle Henry may have still been watching over him working in the shed! :D

  37. 

    Awesome. Love it Madame Weebles! Time isn’t as linear as we think it is. Enjoy! :)

  38. 

    Our similarities are seriously making me think we’re long lost sisters.

    While I don’t have the ability to go back in time, I have an uncanny ability to sense things before they happen. Occasionally, I also get strong urges to tell people things, or check up on them.

    Most recently I met someone, and as we were leaving I said, “Bye Jack!” He asked me how I knew his name, he hadn’t mentioned it during our brief conversation. I didn’t know why I was compelled to say it, I just did. Turns out, it was his dead father’s name, and also happened to be his middle name.

  39. 

    I love time travel fiction and I often daydream of someone from the Middle Ages appearing in our time and how on earth they’d get to grips with our world – once they’d got over the possibility of it all being witchcraft (if they ever did). There’s a book I got some while back you might like, it’s sort of creative non-fiction, called The Time Traveller’s guide to Medieval England (by Ian Mortimer).

    I had a weird experience myself in the early 1970s in which I started crossing a bridge over the River Thames in London and ‘saw’ severed heads on stakes on the side of it. That was impossible – but was it my imagination or some sort of flick back in time? Who can say. (Maybe bridges are really portals in themselves, do you reckon? They freak me out, always have done.)

    My love of the past and wishing I could see it in reality is one of the reasons I colour black and white photos to make them look like they were taken in colour.

  40. 

    Weebs KNOWS things, and, now, she SEES things too.
    Freak.

  41. 

    How interesting. I didn’t know of that book. But I wonder if it was the inspiration for the movie “Somewhere in time” with Christopher Reeve?

    • 

      Hi SSG! That book that inspired “Somewhere in Time” was actually called Bid Time Return, by Richard Matheson. It has a very similar premise (and the book is much better than the movie, in my opinion).

      • 

        oh, I’ll add that to my list as well.

        Books are usually much better than their movie counterparts, I find. And this particular movie wasn’t all that good but it has two things that make it a winner for me: 1. The 1912’s fashion. 2. Christopher Reeve

  42. 

    Also, I never got to tell you my weird stories

  43. 

    Weebles,
    Did you ever read The Holographic Universe?

  44. 

    On rare occasions I’ve had feelings of déjà vu, but I’ve never experienced any 3D Technicolor visions like you, and I must say, Weebs, that your vision as you approached Newark is intriguing. Were you traveling solo or with Mr. Weebles or someone else? If you were with company, did you mention the flash of paranormal activity? If I could time travel, I’d like to check out the future for some good stock tips. That would be the ultimate insider trading.

    • 

      I was by myself on the train, apparently nobody else noticed anything. Did you ever see Back to the Future II? There’s a subplot in there where one of the characters gets a sports almanac from the future and brings it back to the past so he can bet on all the events and win big. That’s really the way to do it, use time travel for fun AND profit.

  45. 

    I’m going to get that book – thanks for the recommendation. I LOVE the idea that we’re all connected somehow, and I can’t imagine that connection NOT including people from past-times.
    Ps. How is your Mom? I’ve been thinking about her a lot. XO

    • 

      I’m with you, Janet. It just feels like there are so many things that tie everything together from place to place and era to era. And my mom is doing very well, you’re so extremely kind to think of her! Thank you!

  46. 
    writerwendyreid January 24, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    I love that Weebly. Very cool. I “feel” people sometimes, but haven’t had the opportunity for visions…at least yet. :-)

  47. 

    I love science fiction. It’s one of my favorite genres because it allows you to travel outside of your current world and experience something more. Now I would love to read this book.

    Sometimes I wish I could travel back to a simpler time. Just to escape all the present day burdens. Then I remember how much I have and am thankful for and I move on.

    • 

      I understand this, Vyvacious. It seems so much easier, looking back on past times as being simpler and better. And in some ways they were, but on the other hand, in a lot of ways they weren’t. Overall, I’d rather be in the 21st century.

  48. 

    Wow this just gets better and better Mme. W. I’m on board for your next installment.

    This Dakota building inspires a lot of people. I walk by it so often that I have to remind myself to stop and really look at it sometimes. I just saw a snippet of Rosemary’s Baby yesterday — that movie as you probably know was shot there. I thought of doing a post with that clip when she pulls back the curtain on the bassinet and screams ‘What have you done to my baby!” Then that creepy ass music begins playing. I changed my mind because first of all I had nothing really to write that would be reason to insert it. Secondly, the clip’s really damn scary and I don’t want to frighten the few followers I have away.

    But I’ll just tune into you for more real life creepity goodness. Oh yes and maybe I’ll check out that book you mentioned — I’m always looking for good books to read.

    • 

      I love the Dakota. It’s such a creepy looking building. But remember how much creepier it looked back in the day before they cleaned the facade, when it was all dark and icky looking like in the movie?

  49. 

    I love these kinds of stories, though they aren’t really stories. I think this is more commonplace that many of us would like to admit, we are just so closed off from this part in ourselves that it’s seems so “spooky freaky” when things like this happen.
    I often have dreams of premonitions. I had a dream my first kid would be a girl and in the dream she told me her name. My then-partner and I had been dating about 6 months at the time. When I told him he said, “That sounds about right.” Sure enough, 3 years later she came along, with her name already chosen.

    • 

      Given how many people here have commented about their own similar experiences, it seems as if it really is more common than we think, T! I think it’s wild that you have premonitions in dreams. Did you ever tell your daughter about the one with her in it?

  50. 

    I think I’m going to make a business card for myself—“Madame Weebles: Flabbergasting People Since 2012.”
    Peeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeennn.

  51. 

    Dear Madame,
    I probably shouldn’t have read all three ‘I’ve heard dead people’ links at 11:53 at night. I’m pretty sure that was a bad idea. (But they were so goooood!)

  52. 

    You spook me, but in the best way possible.

  53. 

    Weebs, I want to go on a time travel trip with you past the rail road tracks into a black and white photo. That is pretty cool you saw that, whatever is was. I want to read your other posts now and learn more about your paranormal abilities. I knew you had them!

  54. 

    Just another one of your amazing gifts Weebs. And I get it.
    The Seattle area wasn’t even settled until the 1850’s so the history book is smaller. When I lived above the Pike Place Market I often stared out the window at the bay and wondered what other eyes had seen out there over the past 100 years. The building was first housing for merchant marines and then a brothel in the early 1900’s. There was some interesting vibes floating around there…
    Red

    • 

      I bet there were, Red. That building obviously has some good stories to tell. But even though Seattle is younger than cities the East Coast, Seattle has that incredible underground city—I would LOVE to see that. You just know it has to be chock full of creepy spirits and stuff lurking around.

  55. 

    Weird stuff like that happens to us “normal” people too. My experiences are rather less freaky – I’ll have a dream, and then some time later, a particular scene from the dream will be where I happen to find myself in real life. Two examples which spring to mind relate to my old employer. The first dream happened even before I’d applied for the job, I remember being sat in a specific room at a computer with a specific webpage displayed. A few months later, I was in that room, at that computer, looking at that webpage. The next dream also featured being in a specific room looking at a computer, but not the same room as before. Not too long after that, the company moved offices, and then I found that where my desk was, it was as per the dream. In both cases I’d not seen either office before the dreams occurred.

    So mine seems to be only minor prediction type stuff, not like your mega interesting and mysterious type stuff. But it’s a gift. You can either accept it and use it, or ignore it and have it go away.

    • 

      That’s pretty cool, faith—it might not be predicting the lottery numbers but it’s still cool. I’ve never had a dream that turned out to be a prediction. So you’ve got some mad skillz too. I agree that you either accept it and use it or just let it dry up. I prefer the former. It’s much more fun.

      • 

        I agree, much more fun, even if it’s also as scary as hell on occasion! Another incident from a dream was a conversation with a friend and I’d dreamt the actual conversation he & I ended up having. That was weird and a half!

  56. 

    I got that same feeling at Gettysburg, both the town and the battlefield.
    It was as if the curtain of time had dropped and the mists had parted for just a moment.

    • 

      Gettysburg is one creepy place, Guap. Even on the sunniest days, there’s a pall hanging over the town and the battlefield. You describe it perfectly—like the curtain of time had dropped and the mists had parted. That’s really what it feels like there. More than any other battlefield I’ve ever been to.

  57. 

    Sometimes other times seem just a cobweb away, don’t they, Weebles? As if you just reach out you will be able to touch another era. I do hope you make it across here sometime: it would be interesting to see what you picked up…

    • 

      “A cobweb away” — I *love* that, Kate! I haven’t been to the UK in a lonnnng time—the last time I was there was way before I started having all these bizarre experiences. I will go over for a visit again, though, hopefully sooner than later. You’ve blogged about so many places I need to visit!

  58. 

    I love invasion of the body snatchers and I like time travel stories also. I shall add this to the list. Actually I didn’t read all the post as I didn’t want spoilers!

  59. 

    oh lord. i totally need to do this. i need to get to a university campus, winter of 1979. and NOT… um…. yeah… do-overs. what a wonderful world it would be….

  60. 

    Oooh, how spooky-cool! That book sounds great. I would love to be able to time-travel that way, and see everyday life as it was.

    • 

      I know!! Wouldn’t that be so cool? Just to see what the average person wore, ate, how they talked, what they thought was funny, etc. If you have the chance, Mo, definitely read the book, I think you’ll really like it!

Testify!

